

JUL 18 2019

CLERK OF COURT SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

# LOCAL RULES OF COURT PAULDING COUNTY COURT OF COMMON PLEAS PAULDING COUNTY, OHIO

1993 - 2010

HON. J. DAVID WEBB, JUDGE

2011 ->

JUDGE TIFFANY BECKMAN PAULDING COUNTY COURT OF COMMON PLEAS 115 N WILLIAMS ST; STE 201 PAULDING, OH 45879 These Rules of Court shall be effective commencing January 1, 1993.

#### RULE 1:

#### SCOPE AND PURPOSE OF RULES

The purpose of these rules is to define local practices and procedures of the Court, consistent with the Rules of Superintendence, the Rules of Civil and Criminal Procedure and such other rules as may be adopted or promulgated by the Supreme Court of Ohio pursuant to Section 5 of Article IV of the Ohio Constitution.

#### RULE 2:

#### TERM OF COURT

- (A) The Court shall be in continuous operation for the transaction of judicial business.
- (B) There shall be one term of court, commencing on January 1 of each calendar year. The term shall be divided into three sessions; these sessions shall commence on January 1, May 1, and September 1, respectively.

#### RULE 3:

#### HOURS OF SESSION

The sessions of the Court shall begin at 8:00 A.M. and close at 12:00 noon and shall resume at 1:00 P.M. and close at 4:00 P.M. on Monday through Friday each week except on those days designated by law as legal holidays.

#### RULE 4:

#### SECURITY FOR COSTS

Unless an affidavit for costs (DR-1) is filed, in every action for divorce or alimony and in every other civil action in which the plaintiff or a defendant are asking for affirmative relief security for costs must be given in the following amounts:

\$150.00 - General Security upon original filing

- \$150.00 Counterclaims, Cross-Claims and Third Party Claims
- \$150.00 Divorce, Dissolution, Annulment & Legal Separation

\$ 75.00 - Motion to Reopen a Case

\$ 15.00 - Any motion with Consent Judgment Entry modifying a previous final Judgment Entry or Decree of Dissolution of Marriage

\$200.00 - Publication (in addition to deposit of \$150.00)

- \$ 15.00 plus \$1.00 for employer -- Garnishments (service by certified maily
- \$1.00 \$ 40.00 - plus for employer Garnishments (service by Sheriff)

5.00 - Release of Judgment Lien

\$ 20.00 - Certificate of Judgment (from another county)

5.00 - Certificate of Judgment (issuing)

\$ 15.00 Certificate of Judgment (issuing & filing) \$ 45.00 - Deposits on Executions

\$ 35/00 - Aid of Execution \$ 50.00 - Foreign Judgments

#### RULE 5:

#### SERVICE BY PUBLICATION

- (A) Counsel for a party desiring service by publication shall submit to the Clerk of Courts the proposed legal notice for such notification.
- This notice shall be promptly published in the local newspaper by the Clerk of Courts. The cost of the legal notice shall be taxed as court costs.

#### RULE 6:

#### PLEADINGS AND MOTIONS

#### (A) Form:

- All pleadings, motions and memoranda filed with the Court shall contain the following information:
  - Name, address, telephone number of counsel, and Attorney Registration Number issued by the Supreme Court Ohio If counsel is a firm of attorneys, the attorney having primary responsibility for the case shall indicate as much thereon.

- 2. All papers filed with the court shall be on regular size paper (8 1/2 X 11), with the exception of depositions and exhibits. All filings shall have a top margin of at least one and one-half inches.
- 3. The current address of all parties to the action. Counsel shall notify the Clerk in writing of any change of address of any party.
- (B) Pleadings and motions may be amended as provided in Civ. R. 15, but no pleading or motion shall be amended by interlineation or obliteration except upon leave of Court.
- (C) Except in Domestic Relations matters:
  - 1. All motions shall be accompanied by a brief statement of the grounds and the authorities relied upon.
  - 2. The opposing counsel or a party may file a response by the fourteenth day after the day on which the motion was filed. The moving party may file a reply brief by the twenty-first day following the day on which such motion was filed. On the twenty-first calendar day after the motion was filed, the motion shall be deemed submitted without oral arguments unless oral argument is requested in writing by counsel.
  - 3. This rule shall apply to all motions including motions for new trial, motions for judgment notwithstanding the verdict, and motions for reconsideration but shall not apply to motions for summary judgment.

#### RULE 7:

#### INTERROGATORIES & PRODUCTION OF DOCUMENTS

Interrogatories may not exceed 40 in number, including subparts, without leave of Court first obtained.

Counsel demanding discovery shall file with the Clerk of Courts a one page certificate bearing the case caption, the type of discovery requested, the name of the party required to respond, the name and address of the counsel to whom the demand for discovery was directed and the date of mailing.

#### RULE 8:

#### CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

- (A) Every pleading, motion, brief, memorandum or argument in writing filed with the Court and Judge shall be served upon all opposing counsel or upon all parties not represented by counsel who are not in default.
- (B) Proof of service shall be by certificate of service attached to such pleading, motion, brief, memorandum or argument.

#### RULE 9:

#### **DEPOSITIONS**

A deposition filed with the Clerk of Courts shall not be withdrawn except by leave of the Court.

#### RULE 10:

#### USE OF VIDEOTAPE

The use of videotaped depositions and testimony is permissible, providing that the following guidelines are met:

- (A) When testimony is recorded on videotape pursuant to Civ. R. 40, Sup. R. 10 and 12, it will be the responsibility of counsel to instruct the Notary Public before whom the testimony is taken to note by the use of a digital counter or other clock device connected with the tape the point on the videotape where objections are made. The notary will then number the objections consecutively and attach this record to the certification when filed with the Clerk.
- (B) Objections must be made at the conclusions of the question and answer only. Counsel may state the basis for the objections and read citations into the record at this time. Any objections made prior to the completion of an answer may in the Court's discretion be considered overruled.
- (C) A transcript of the testimony shall accompany a videotape deposition, at the time they are filed.
- (D) In all cases where testimony is recorded on videotape, the costs shall be assessed pursuant to Sup. R. 12(D).

#### RULE 11:

#### RULE DAYS AND EXTENSIONS

Extensions of time to move or plead shall not be granted beyond twenty-one (21) days, except upon motion and hearing, after notice to opposing counsel.

#### RULE 12:

#### OFFICIAL NOTIFICATION OF COUNSEL

Notification by the Assignment Commissioner by ordinary mail shall be deemed official and complete notification to all counsel and unrepresented parties of any assignment of any case for any purpose whatsoever.

#### RULE 13:

#### PRE-TRIAL PROCEDURE

#### (A) Pre-trials

All cases triable to a jury, and all other cases at the request of counsel or in the discretion of the Court shall be regularly assigned for pre-trial conference in accordance with the provisions of Rule 16 of the Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure.

Counsel who are to try the case will be present at the pretrial conference, with authority to discuss all phases of the case, with authority to negotiate toward settlement of the case, enter into stipulations, and conduct good faith negotiations. Counsel must be prepared to certify that they have conferred with each other prior to the pre-trial conference.

If, after notice, counsel for any party fails to appear at the pre-trial conference, the Court may dispose of the case as though counsel had failed to appear for trial.

#### (B) Pre-Trial Statement

At the Court's discretion, counsel shall file within five (5) days of a pre-trial a "Pre-trial Statement" containing the following required data:

- 1. The counsel who will be trial counsel and who is fully authorized to act and negotiate on behalf of the party.
- 2. A statement of the issues involved and a statement in writing of all questions of law which it is expected will be involved in the case.

3. All exhibits which are to be offered in evidence at the trial; an itemization of all special damages claimed; the names of all witnesses, both expert and non-expert, expected to be called at the trial; whether or not a view will be requested; whether or not a jury trial if previously demanded, will not be waived, and if not, the number of jurors demanded, and whether the case is one where the issue of liability should be tried separately with a subsequent trial on the issue of damages if liability be found.

#### RULE 14:

#### TRIAL BRIEFS

Preliminary to the trial of cases assigned for trial, counsel may within their discretion or counsel shall upon request of the Judge file trial briefs containing questions of law involved in the case. All trial briefs shall be furnished to opposing counsel.

#### RULE 15:

#### DEFAULT JUDGMENTS AND RELIEF FROM JUDGMENT

Default judgments shall be granted in accordance with Civ. R. 55. All motions for default judgment shall be accompanied by a proposed judgment entry.

No motion for relief from judgment pursuant to Civ. R. 60(B) shall be granted by the Court unless the movant has demonstrated to the satisfaction of the Court by operative facts of evidentiary quality that (A) the movant has a meritorious defense or claim to present if relief is granted; (B) the movant is entitled to relief under one of the grounds stated in Civ. R. 60(B)(1) through (5); and (C) the motion is made within a reasonable time.

#### RULE 16:

#### ENTRIES

Unless the Trial Judge otherwise directs, counsel for the party in whose favor an order, decree, or judgment is rendered, shall within five (5) days thereafter prepare the proper judgment entry, and submit it to the counsel for the adverse party, who shall approve or reject the same within three (3) days after the receipt thereof. Name of the counsel and of the trial judge shall be typed or printed upon the entry. When the entry is approved by counsel, it shall be so endorsed and presented to the Court for approval and if signed by him shall then be filed with the Clerk. If counsel are unable to agree upon the entry, it shall be submitted to the Court, who will direct what entry shall be made.

If counsel fail to present an entry within ten (10) days after the order is decreed, or judgment is rendered, the Judge may cause the proper entry to be prepared and filed without submission or notice to counsel or take such action as may be appropriate under the circumstances.

Counsel shall promptly submit an entry of dismissal to the Judge following settlement of any case. If counsel fail to present such an entry to the Judge within ten (10) days after representation to the Court that a case has been settled, the Judge may order the case dismissed as for want of prosecution.

The Clerk of Courts will not accept for filing any judgment entry unless it is accompanied by two (2) copies thereof.

Counsel will also provide the Clerk of Courts with sufficient additional copies as may be necessary to satisfy the Clerk's responsibility to serve copies upon parties, employers, etc.

#### RULE 17:

#### JURY QUESTIONNAIRE

Prior to trial, counsel for the parties shall be provided by the Assignment Commissioner with copies of juror questionnaires which have been previously completed by prospective jurors.

During voir dire, counsel may not inquire of jurors as to matters satisfactorily and completely answered in the questionnaires.

Counsel may not copy the juror questionnaires furnished them, and must return the jury questionnaires to the Assignment Commissioner promptly after voir dire.

#### RULE 18:

#### MILITARY AFFIDAVIT

In every action where there is default in appearance or where judgment is confessed on warrant of attorney, the party prevailing shall present to the Court and shall file with the judgment entry an affidavit in compliance with the Soldiers' and Sailors' Civil Relief Act of 1940 (Title 50, App. U.S.C.A., Section 501 et. seq.).

#### RULE 19:

#### DOMESTIC RELATIONS

#### (A) Court Costs

- 1. See Rule 4: Security for Costs
- 2. The Clerk of Courts shall refuse to accept for filing any Complaint, Counterclaim, Cross-Claim for Divorce, Annulment or Legal Separation or Petition for Dissolution of Marriage not accompanied by a completed FORM DR-5 and FORM DR-2: Affidavit pursuant to R.C. 3109.27, or an affidavit similar to such FORM DR-2, if required by law.

#### (B) Temporary Restraining Orders

- 1. All affidavits must strictly comply with the requirements of Civ. R. 75(H)(2) and must specifically set forth the reasons for requesting such orders.
- The Court may require affiant to personally appear prior to issuing temporary restraining orders.

#### (C) Pendente Lite Orders

- 1. FORM DR-3 must accompany a motion requesting Pendente Lite orders.
- 2. The Court has adopted a schedule for visitation and companionship, Exhibit "A." The Court will use this schedule unless the best interests of the children and/or the evidence requires otherwise.
- 3. All child support shall be paid through the Child Support Enforcement Agency, Page 280 280 Paulding, OH 45879.

  201 East Stroline St., Suite 1

#### (D) Pre-Trial Procedure

1. Domestic cases will not be assigned for pre-trial conference, unless specifically requested by counsel.

Prior to the date assigned for final hearing, parties shall exchange FORM DR-4's and engage in desired settlement negotiations. The Court expects to start final hearings at their assigned times and will not delay the start of final hearings for last minute negotiations.

#### (E) Final Judgment Entries

- All final judgment entries, including dissolution of marriage shall set forth the earnings of the parties on the date of judgment, their date of birth, their social security numbers and all R.C. 3113.21 requirements.
- 2. All child support shall be paid through the county Child Support Enforcement Agency and the Court shall order a mandatory Wage Withholding, Workers' Compensation Order or appropriate bank account attachment as mandated by R.C. 3113.21.
- 3. All final judgment entries in divorces, dissolutions, and legal separations shall specify the date upon which any child support or spousal support obligation commences and such date shall always be a Friday. Should a judgment entry fail to specify a commencement date, the commencement date shall be the first Friday following the filing of the judgment entry.

#### (F) Post-Judgment Motions

- 1. Each Motion to Modify shall contain the following:
  - (a) The exact language of the prior order sought to be modified and date filed;
  - (b) The reasons for requesting modification;
  - (c) The modification requested, with particularity;
  - (d) The names and addresses of all parties;
  - (e) Such other information as required by R.C. 3109.27.
- 2. Each Motion to Show Cause shall contain the following:
  - (a) The exact language of the prior order sought to be enforced and date filed;
  - (b) The facts alleged to be a violation of that order;
  - (c) The relief requested, with particularity;

- (d) The names and addresses of all parties; and
- (e) If pertinent, the names, addresses and ages of all the children.
- The Court may, on its own, dismiss any pleading or motion filing to comply with these rules.

#### RULE 20:

#### PARTITION

Fees allowed in partition cases as costs therein shall be predicated either upon the appraised value of the property, if partitioned, or upon the proceeds of sale, if sold, and shall not exceed the following: 10% of the first \$1,000.00; 6% of the next \$4,000.00; 4% on the balance up to \$10,000.00; and 2% on all over \$10,000.00. If an action for partition is terminated other than on the merits, the trial attorney for plaintiff shall be allowed a fee for the reasonable value of his services, commensurate with the time and labor required and expended, the novelty and difficulty of the questions involved, and the skill requisite to perform the service properly. The Court shall tax as costs the fees so allowed in favor of the trial attorney for plaintiff, unless the Court awards some part thereof to the other trial attorneys in the cause for service for the common benefit of all parties.

#### RULE 21:

#### CERTIFICATE OF TITLES FOR JUDICIAL SALES

(A) In every action hereinafter filed wherein a judicial sale of real estate is contemplated by the complaint or subsequent pleadings the party praying for said sale or the attorney for the party praying for said sale shall endorse thereon the following certification:

"The undersigned hereby certifies that an examination of the public records of Paulding County, Ohio has been made to determine the ownership of subject real estate and all parties who may claim an interest therein, and that, in the opinion of the undersigned, all such parties have been named as parties to this action," stating as exceptions any interested party not so name.

(B) Upon application for an order of sale of real estate, the party or attorney having requested said sale shall further certify:

"The undersigned hereby certifies that an examination of title to subject real estate has been extended to \_\_\_\_\_\_ to

determine if any parties have acquired any interest therein subsequent to said previous examination and said examination discloses that, in the opinion of the undersigned, there are no such parties except parties to whom the doctrine of lis pendens applies," also stating as further exceptions any such party not subject to lis pendens.

- (C) The sheriff, deputy or party conducting the sale shall, prior thereto, announce that any purchasers shall have thirty (30) days from the date of sale to obtain an examination of title to said real estate. Should such examination disclose the title so purchased to be unmarketable by reason of any defect in the proceedings or the existence of any interest not disclosed in either of the certifications described above, no liability shall be predicated on the certifications but said purchaser may, within the thirty (30) day period, notify the Court thereof by written motion requesting that said sale be set aside. If the Court, upon hearing thereof, finds said title to be unmarketable, the Court shall refuse to confirm said sale. The Court may, however, fix a reasonable time, not to exceed ninety (90) days, within which such defect may be corrected.
- (D) A purchaser may waive any part or all of the thirty (30) day period by signing the confirmation entry, but no confirmation entry not approved by the purchaser shall be filed until said period has expired.
- (E) This rule shall not apply to proceedings under R.C. 5721.18.

#### RULE 22:

#### APPRAISER'S FEES

Appraiser's fees of \$10.00 shall be allowed to each appraiser in actions relating to personal property and appraiser's fees of \$40.00 shall be allowed to each appraiser in actions relating to real property.

#### RULE 23:

#### APPEALS FROM ADMINISTRATIVE AGENCIES

Except as otherwise provided by specific rule, statute or court order, in all cases originating in administrative bodies and appealed to this Court, the appellant shall serve and file a brief in support of his appeal within thirty (30) days after the date on which the record is filed. The appellee's brief shall be served and filed within fourteen (14) days after service of the brief of the appellant. The appellant may serve and file a reply brief within seven (7) days after service of the brief of the appellee. Such cases will then be considered submitted without evidentiary hearing or oral argument, unless ordered by the Court.

#### **RULE 24:**

#### GUARDIANS AD LITEM

No person other than an attorney at law duly admitted to the practice of law in the State of Ohio shall be appointed guardian ad litem or trustee for the suit in any matter or proceeding in this Court.

#### RULE 25:

#### BAIL AND SURETY BONDS

Attorneys and other officers of the Court shall not be accepted as bail or surety, and no bond shall be approved having the name of such persons thereon as surety.

#### RULE 26:

#### MEDIA COVERAGE

#### (A) Scope

In addition to Superintendency Rule 11 and Canon 3(A)(7) of the Code of Judicial Conduct, the following rules shall govern the broadcasting, televising, recording, and photographing by news media during any judicial proceeding in this Court.

#### (B) Requests for Permission

Requests for permission to broadcast, televise, record, and/or photograph any courtroom proceeding, including recesses between sessions and entry into and the exit from the Court Room shall be in writing. Permission shall be granted or denied, in whole or in part, by the Judge whose order shall be in writing and journalized as a part of the record of the proceedings. Such requests shall be directed to and received by the Clerk of Courts, with copies to all parties to the action, or their counsel, no less than 72 hours prior to scheduled commencement of the proceeding. The Clerk of Courts shall immediately thereafter notify the Judge of the request. Such requests shall specify: A) the name of the case; B) the case docket number; C) the type of proceeding; D) the Judge assigned to the case; E) type of coverage desired; F) type of equipment to be used; and G) the names of all operating personnel.

#### (C) Limitations

The Judge shall retain discretion at all times to limit the photographing, filming, and/or recording of the victim(s) or witnesses. If any party objects in writing to the photographing, filming, and/or recording of his testimony within 24 hours of receiving notice of the news media's request, the trial Judge shall conduct a hearing to consider such objections, or such hearing being waived, the trial Judge may require written briefs to determine whether good cause is shown for the objection. Only the

parties involved and their counsel shall be permitted to attend the hearing. If the news media wishes to support their request for photographing, filming, or recording the testimony of the objecting party, it may do so in writing, filed with the Court prior to the scheduled hearing. Failure to honor any rulings as to the photographing, filming, or recording of a particular witness which the Judge shall make will result in immediate revocation of the privilege extended to the news media representative and, if warranted, may result in a charge of contempt of court.

The filming, videotaping, recording or taking of photographs of victims or witnesses who object shall not be permitted.

The filming, videotaping, recording or taking of photographs of jurors shall not be permitted.

#### (D) Courtroom Decorum

Proper Courtroom attire and decorum shall be exercised by media representatives at all times.

#### (E) Revocation of Permission

Upon the failure of any media representative to comply with the conditions prescribed by the trial judge, the Rules of Superintendence, or this rule, the trial judge may revoke the permission to broadcast, photograph, or record the trial or hearing. Any intentional and serious violation of a prescribed condition may result in a citation for contempt of court.

## RULE 27: REMOVAL OF FILES FROM CLERK'S OFFICE

Case files may be removed from the Office of the Clerk of Courts only after being receipted for by an attorney licensed to practice law in the State of Ohio and must be returned to the Clerk of Courts within 72 hours.

#### **RULE 28:**

#### COPIES OF MOTIONS

All motions filed that are not accompanied by agreed Journal Entries disposing of same shall be accompanied by an extra copy of the motion for the Court.

#### **RULE 29:**

#### CASE MANAGEMENT

#### A) Civil Cases (Excepting Domestic Relations Cases:

- 1. Within thirty (30) days of the filing of the initial responsive pleading, (answer, motion to dismiss, etc.) or default by all of the defendants in civil cases, excepting domestic relations cases, the Assignment Commissioner shall issue an assignment notice to all counsel of record assigning the case for initial pretrial conference and case management conference within sixty (60) days of the issuance of the assignment notice.
- 2. At the time of the initial pre-trial and case management conference, the Court shall discuss the issues of the case with counsel and shall, after consultation with counsel, establish a schedule for all necessary further proceedings in the case, including but not limited to: the joinder of additional parties, the amendment of pleadings, the completion of discovery, the disclosure of expert witnesses, the filling of motions for summary judgment, the filling of briefs, the filling of jury instructions, final pre-trial conference, and trial. The schedule for further proceedings established by the Court shall not be varied from except by order of the Court and for good cause shown.

#### B) Domestic Relations Cases:

#### 1. Divorces and Legal Separations:

Within ninety (90) days of the completion of service upon the defendant, the Assignment Commissioner shall issue an assignment notice assigning all divorce cases and legal separation cases for final hearing within ninety (90) days of the issuance of the assignment notice.

#### 2. Dissolutions:

All dissolution cases shall be assigned for final hearing by the Assignment Commissioner within ninety (90) days of filing.

#### 3. Post Judgment Motions:

All post judgment motions in domestic relations cases shall be assigned for hearing by the Assignment Commissioner within sixty (60) days of filing.

#### C) <u>Criminal Cases</u>:

- 1. All criminal cases shall be assigned for arraignment within thirty (30) days of the filing of the indictment or bill of information.
- 2. At the time of arraignment in all criminal cases, the Court shall establish a schedule for all necessary further proceedings in the case, including but not limited to: the completion of discovery, the filing of pre-trial motions, pre-trial conference, and trial. The schedule for further proceedings established by the Court shall not be varied from except by order of the Court and for good cause shown.

See revised Rule 30

#### RULE 30:

#### SERVICE BY POSTING

- (A) In all cases in which service by publication by posting and mail are authorized under Rule 4.4(A)(2) of the Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure, the required notices shall be posted outside of the door of the Clerk of Court's Office in the Paulding County Courthouse, in the public lobby of the Paulding County Sheriff's Department at 112 South Williams Street in the Village of Paulding, and in the lobby of the Paulding County Health Department at 101 West Perry Street in the Village of Paulding.
- (B) In all cases in which service by posting and mail is authorized by Rule 4.4(A)(2) of the Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure, the Clerk of Courts shall cause the notice to be posted for six (6) successive weeks at the three (3) locations provided for herein and upon the expiration of said six (6) weeks shall file a written certification of such posting in the case file. A copy of the certification of posting is attached hereto as Exhibit "B."
- (C) In all cases in which service by posting and mail is authorized and requested, a deposit for the cost of a certificate of mailing from the United States Postal Service shall be made by plaintiff with the Clerk of Courts.

#### RULE 31

#### ISSUANCE AND SERVICE OF WRITS OF EXECUTION

(A) Each writ of execution against personal property issued by the Clerk of Courts shall be accompanied by two (2) copies of a notice to the judgment debtor advising the judgment debtor that he or she may hold certain personal property exempt from execution, setting forth the substance of those exemptions as provided in Section 2329.66 of the Ohio Revised Code, and setting forth the procedure by which the judgment debtor may obtain a prompt hearing on any claim for exemption. Such notice shall also include a form to be used for requesting a hearing.

- (B) At the time of serving a writ of execution upon a judgment debtor, the officer serving said writ shall serve upon the judgment debtor a notice of their right to claim certain property as exempt as described in Section A. Service of the aforesaid notice shall be made by personal or residential service; and, if personal or residential service cannot be completed, service shall be completed by posting the aforesaid notice conspicuously at the location where the property is levied upon. The serving officer shall forthwith make return of service to the Clerk of Courts of the notice of right to claim as exempt.
- (C) A claim for exemption pursuant to Section 2329.66 of the Ohio Revised Code must be made by the judgment debtor within five (5) business days from the date of service of the notice of right to claim exemption as described in Section A and B. Failure to request such hearing within five (5) business days shall constitute a waiver of the right to claim property as exempt from execution pursuant to Section 2329.66 of the Ohio Revised Code.

#### **RULE 32:**

### ADDITIONAL FEES FOR COMPUTERIZATION OF CLERK'S OFFICE AND COMPUTER RESEARCH (2303.201 O.R.C.)

- (A) The Court hereby determines that for the efficient operation of the Court, additional funds are required to make available computerized legal research services; and, the Court does hereby authorize and direct the Clerk of this Court to charge an additional fee of \$3.00, commencing January 1, 1993, on the filing of each cause of action or appeal under divisions (A), (Q), and (U) of Section 2303.20 of the Ohio Revised Code. All monies collected under this Rule shall be paid to the County Treasurer to be disbursed, upon an order of this Court, in an amount no greater than the actual cost to the Court in procuring and maintaining computerized legal research services.
- (B) The Court further hereby determines that for the efficient operation of the Court, additional funds are required to computerize the Office of the Clerk of the Court of Common Pleas; and, the Court hereby authorizes and directs the Clerk of the Court of Common Pleas, commencing January 1, 1993, to charge an additional fee of \$10.00 on the filing of each cause of action or appeal, on the filing, docketing, and endorsing of each certificate of judgment, and on the docketing and indexing of each aid in execution or petition to vacate, revive, or modify a judgment under divisions (A), (P), (Q), (T), and (U) of Section 2303.20 of the Revised Code. All monies collected under this Section shall be paid to the County Treasurer to be disbursed, upon the order of this Court and subject to appropriation by the Board of County Commissioners, in an amount no greater than the actual cost to the Court of providing and maintaining computer systems for the Office of the Clerk of the Court of Common Pleas.

#### IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF PAULDING COUNTY, OHIO

IN THE MATTER OF:	Common Pleas Courl Paulding County, Ohio TimeM
LOCAL RULES OF COURT	APR 2 7 2011
	ANN E. PEASE, CLERK

It appearing to the Court that the Local Rules of Court with reference to court cost deposits should be amended to reflect the increased costs;

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that Rule 4 of the Local Rules of Court be and hereby is amended, effective May 1, 2011, to read as follows:

No civil action or proceeding shall be accepted by the Clerk for filing unless the party or parties offering the same for filing shall have first deposited a sum to secure the payment of costs that may accrue is such action or proceeding except as otherwise provided by law. Such advanced deposit shall be in accordance with the following schedule:

\$275.00 <sub>.</sub>	Civil complaint
\$275.00	Counterclaims, Cross-claims, or Third Party Claims.
\$300.00	Civil Jury Fee deposit—The first party making a jury demand in a civil case before this Court shall deposit \$300.00 with the Clerk of Courts no later than fourteen (14) days before the scheduled trial date. Failure to post the required deposit within the time allotted shall constitute a waiver of jury trial.
\$275.00	Complaint for Divorce/Legal Separation without children
\$275.00	Petition for Dissolution without children
\$300.00	Complaint for Divorce/Legal Separation with children (includes Plaintiff's deposit for Parenting Program)

\$325.00	Petition for Dissolution with children (includes both parties deposit for Parenting Program)
\$175.00	Motion to Reopen Case
\$100.00	Motion with Consent Judgment Entry modifying a previous final Judgment Entry or Decree of Divorce or Dissolution of Marriage.
\$300.00	Service by Publication (in addition to the above-stated deposit)
\$250.00	Praecipe for Order of Sale deposit
\$50.00	Additional filing fee for all cases requesting personal service (in additional to the above-stated deposits)
\$55.00	Garnishments—Personal Earnings
\$15.00	Garnishments—Other than Personal Earnings (+\$1.00 garnishee's fee)
\$5.00	Release of Judgment Lien
\$25.00	Certificate of Judgment (filing)
\$5.00	Certificate of Judgment (issuing)
\$100.00	Deposit on Execution
\$45.00	Aid of Execution
\$50.00	Foreign Judgments

Tiffany Reighter Beckman, JUDGE

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF PAULDING COUNTY, OHIO

IN THE MATTER OF

ADDITIONAL FEES FOR SPECIAL PROJECTS PURSUANT TO R.C. 2303.201(E)(1)

JUDGMENT ENTRY

Effective May 1, 2011, pursuant to Ohio Revised Code Section 2303.201(E)(1), the Court of Common Pleas of Paulding County, Ohio hereby directs the Clerk of Courts of Paulding County to charge, in addition to fees and costs, a fee of seventy-five dollars (\$75.00) that is collected on the filing of each criminal case, civil action or proceeding including domestic relations actions, or judgment by confession.

All said additional fees collected shall be paid immediately upon collection to the Paulding County Treasurer. The Treasurer shall place the funds from the fees into a separate "Paulding County Common Pleas Court General Special Projects Fund" pursuant to R.C. 2303.201(E)(1) to be disbursed only upon order of the Court of Common Pleas of Paulding County, Ohio for special projects as shall be determined by the Court.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated: April 27, 2011

Judge Tiffany Reighter Beckman

cc:

Paulding County Clerk of Courts Paulding County Treasurer Paulding County Auditor

FILED IN Common Pleas Court Paulding County, Ohio Time

APR 2 7 2011

ANN E. PEASE, CLERK

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF PAULDING COUNTY, OHIO

FILED IN
Common Pleas Court
Paulding County, Ohio
Time \_\_\_\_\_\_M

IN THE MATTER OF:

APR 27 2011

LOCAL RULES OF COURT

ANN E. PEASE, CLERK

It appearing to the Court that Rule 32 of the Local Rules of the Court relating to R.C. 2303.201, should be amended in order to provide for the efficient operation of the Court:

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that Rule 32 of the Local Rules of Court be and hereby are amended, effective upon the filing of this Judgment Entry, to read as follows:

ADDITIONAL FEES FOR COMPUTERIZATION OF CLERK'S OFFICE, COMPUTER RESEARCH AND SPECIAL PROJECTS (R.C. 2303.201)

- (A) The Court hereby determines that for the efficient operation of the Court, additional funds are required to make available computerized legal research services; and, the Court does hereby authorize and direct the Clerk of this Court to charge an additional fee of \$3.00, commencing January 1, 1993, on the filing of each cause of action or appeal. All monies collected under this Rule shall be paid to the Court Treasurer to be disbursed, upon an order of this Court, in an amount no greater than the actual cost to the Court in procuring and maintaining computerized legal research services.
- (B) The Court further determines that for the efficient operation of the Court, additional funds are required to computerize the Office of the Clerk of Court of Common Pleas; and, the Court hereby authorizes and directs the Clerk of the Court of Common Pleas, commencing January 1, 1993, to charge an additional fee of \$10.00 on the filing of each cause of action or appeal, on the filing, docketing, and endorsing of each certificate of judgment, and on the docketing and indexing of each aid in execution or petition to vacate, revive, or modify a judgment. All monies collected under this Section shall be paid to the County Treasurer to be disbursed, upon the order of this Court and subject to appropriation by the Board of County Commissioners, in an amount no greater than the actual cost to the Court of providing and maintaining computer systems for the office of the Clerk of the Court of Common Pleas.
- (C) The Court further determines that for the efficient operation of the Court, additional funds are necessary to acquire and pay for special projects of the Court, including, but not limited to, the acquisition of additional facilities or the rehabilitation of existing facilities, the acquisition of equipment, the hiring

and training of staff, community service programs, mediation or dispute resolution services, the employment of magistrates, the training and education of judges, acting judges, and magistrates, and other related services and, the Court does hereby authorize and direct the Clerk of this Court to charge an additional fee of \$75.00, commencing May 1, 2011, on the filing of each criminal cause, civil action or proceeding including domestic relations actions, or judgments by confession. All monies collected under this Section shall be paid to the County Treasurer to be disbursed, upon the order of this Court and subject to appropriation by the Board of County Commissioners, in an amount no greater than the actual cost to the Court of acquiring and paying for special projects of the Court.

Dated: April 27, 2011

Judge Tiffany Reighter Beckman

# STANDARD RULES FOR PARENTING TIME PAULDING COUNTY COURT OF COMMON PLEAS PAULDING COUNTY, OHIO (Effective September 1, 2011)

- 1. (a) The residential parent shall take the necessary action with the school authorities of the schools in which the children are enrolled to:
  - i. List the nonresidential parent as a parent of the children.
  - ii. To authorize the school to release to the nonresidential parent any and all information concerning the children.
  - iii. To insure that the nonresidential parent receives copies of any notices regarding the children.
- (b) Both parents shall be entitled to receive all information concerning parentteacher meetings, school club meetings, school programs, athletic schedules and any other school activities in which the children may be engaged or interested. The parent receiving such information shall promptly supply a copy of the same to the other parent.
- (c) Both parents shall be entitled to receive the child's grade card or report and any other reports concerning the child's status or progress, and both parents shall have equal access to such information. The parent receiving such information shall promptly supply a copy of the same to the other parent.
- 2. (a) The residential parent shall promptly inform the nonresidential parent of any illnesses of the children which shall require medical attention. Elective surgery shall only be performed after consultation with the nonresidential parent. Emergency surgery necessary for the preservation of life or to prevent a further serious injury or condition may be performed without consultation provided, however, if time permits, the nonresidential parent shall be consulted and, in any event, the nonresidential parent shall be informed as soon as same is possible.
- (b) The party incurring a bill for medical services for the children shall submit the same to all insurance providers within 30 days. Immediately upon receipt of an insurance explanation of benefits, the party receiving the same shall provide a copy to the other parent; and within 30 days of receipt of the EOB form, any reimbursements owing from one party to the other shall be paid.
- 3. Whenever "reasonable parenting time" for a nonresidential parent appears in an entry it shall be defined as providing at a minimum for:

- (a) Parenting time by the nonresidential parent on alternate weekends from Friday at 5:00 P.M. to Sunday at 5:00 P.M. (the beginning and ending times may be varied to accommodate the work schedule of parties by written agreement).
- (b) Parenting time by the nonresidential parent one evening per week, from 5:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. (the beginning and ending times may be varied to accommodate the work schedule of the parties by written agreement). If the parties are unable to agree upon the day of the week for this time, Wednesday will be used unless otherwise ordered by the Court.
- (c) Mother's Day the children shall be with the mother and Father's Day the children shall be with the father. In the event, this provision requires the children to be with the residential parent when it is the nonresidential parent's normal weekend parenting time the nonresidential parent shall return the children by 9:00 A.M. on Mother's Day or Father's Day. In the event that this provision requires the children to be with the nonresidential parent on a day not falling within the nonresidential parent's parenting time weekend, said nonresidential parent shall receive the children at 9:00 A.M. on that day and return them at 7:00 P.M. on said day.
  - (d) The parents shall have the children on Holidays as follows:

#### EVEN YEARS

RESIDENTIAL PARENT

President's Day (Friday night to Monday night)

Memorial Day (Friday night to Monday night)

<u>Labor Day</u> (Friday night to Monday night)

Christmas & New Year's (Christmas Day at 2:00 P.M. until the night of the end of New Year's holiday)

NONRESIDENTIAL PARENT

<u>Easter</u>

(Thursday night to Sunday night)

Fourth of July

(Night before to morning after except when the 4<sup>th</sup> falls on Saturday, Sunday or Monday when the parenting time shall commence on Friday night and continue to end of weekend or end of holiday whichever is later)

Thanksgiving Day
(Wednesday night to Sunday night)

Christmas & New Year's
(7:00 P.M. of the last day school is in session PRIOR to Christmas until 2:00 P.M. Christmas Day)

#### **ODD YEARS**

NONRESIDENTIAL PARENT

President's Day

(Friday night to Monday night)

Memorial Day

(Friday night to Monday night)

Labor Day

(Friday night to Monday night)

Christmas & New Year's

(Christmas Day at 2:00 P.M. until the night of the end of New Year's holiday)

RESIDENTIAL PARENT

<u>Easter</u>

(Thursday night to Sunday night)

Fourth of July

(Night before to morning after except when the 4<sup>th</sup> falls on Saturday, Sunday or Monday when the parenting time shall commence on Friday night and continue to end of weekend or end of holiday whichever is later)

Thanksgiving Day

(Wednesday night to Sunday night)

Christmas & New Year's

(7:00 P.M. of the last day school is in session PRIOR to Christmas until 2:00 P.M. Christmas Day)

Unless otherwise indicated said holiday parenting times shall commence at the regular hour as set for the commencement of weekend parenting times and shall end at the regular hour set for the ending of weekend parenting times. Said holiday parenting times shall have precedence over the regular parenting time schedule but shall not otherwise modify it (for example: if the holiday granted in any particular year to a nonresidential parent falls between the regular weekend parenting time the nonresidential parent will have parenting time three (3) weekends in a row at a particular time.)

- (e) The nonresidential parent shall have extended parenting time each summer for six (6) weeks in duration, with the residential parent to have alternating weekend parenting time. The parties' weekend and holiday parenting time shall not be interfered with unless the parties agree in writing or the Court orders the same. The nonresidential parent shall notify the residential parent, in writing, of the time thereof as soon as practical, but no less than 30 days prior to the desired extended parenting time. When the parents reside more than 100 miles apart, special orders will be made upon request.
- (f) Both parties shall be diligent in having the children ready and available at the appointed times, and the transporting party shall be prompt in picking up and delivering the children; provided, however, that the transporting parent for parenting times shall have a grace period of fifteen (15) minutes for pick-up and delivery if both parties live within a distance of thirty (30) miles from each other. If the one-way distance to be traveled is in excess of thirty (30) miles, the grace period shall be thirty (30) minutes. In

the event the visiting parent exceeds the grace period, the parenting time for that weekend is forfeited unless prior notification has been made and except in cases where the visiting parent lives in excess of thirty (30) miles away and suffers an unavoidable breakdown or delay enroute, and the parent promptly notifies the other parent by phone of the delay.

- (g) Repeated violations by either parent shall be cause for granting a modification of the designation of the residential parent or curtailing parenting time as the case may be.
- (h) Unless otherwise ordered, the party receiving the children shall provide transportation for the commencement of their parenting time. In the event that the party to receive the children is unavailable at their designated transportation time, the party to receive the children shall designate another responsible adult to provide such transportation.
- 4. The residential parent shall send with the children sufficient clothing and outerwear appropriate for the season to last the period of parenting time.
- 5. Parenting time does not include picking up the children and leaving them with a non-family member while the visiting parent pursues their own pleasures, nor does it include taking the children to a bar for an extended period of time. Violations shall be deemed to be cause for curtailment of parenting time.
- 6. Both parents shall encourage free communications between the children and the other parent, and shall not do anything to impede or restrict reasonable communications by phone, e-mail, or mail between the children and the other parent whether initiated by the children or the other parent. Communications between the children and the parent shall be strictly confidential between them and that parent.
- 7. Neither parent shall criticize, nor shall they allow others to criticize, the other parent in the presence of the children. Negative comments, cursing, sarcasm, and obnoxious comments by one parent to the other parent, or to any third party about the other parent, in the presence of the children, is strictly prohibited.
- 8. Neither of the parties shall attempt to modify the religious practice of the children without first having consulted each other and the Court.
- 9. Neither parent shall remove the children from their current school district without the written agreement of the other parent or a court order obtained prior to the removal; and the residential parent shall comply with the provisions of O.R.C. §3109.05.1(G)(1) should they wish to move from their current residence.
- 10. Both parents shall exchange phone numbers and e-mail addresses so that they may communicate should last minute modifications of exchanges become necessary.

#### IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF PAULDING COUNTY, OHIO

m me Maner of.	Case IVO.
Compensation for Transcripts.	JUDGMENT ENTRY
It is hereby ORDERED th	nat the compensation for court reporters for making
transcripts from the Court's digitall	y recorded proceedings of all or such portions of the
testimony or other proceedings in ar	ny case on or after December 12, 2017, reported by her
which is requested by parties be and	d is hereby fixed at the sum of Six Dollars (\$6.00) per
page for the original. If more than	one transcript of the same testimony or proceeding is
ordered, the reporter shall provide an	electronic copy of the transcript free of charge.
DATED: 12/19	( All norman
• •	Tiffany Reighter Beckman, Judge

OLERK OF COURTS

PAULDING COUNTY
ANN E. PEASE
CLERK OF COURTS

#### IN THE COMMON PLEAS COURT OF PAULDING COUNTY, OHIO

# IN THE MATTER OF AN AMENDMENT TO LOCAL RULES OF COURT - RULE 19 - DOMESTIC RELATIONS

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Rule 19 of the Local Rules of Court be and hereby is amended, effective August 6, 2018 to read as follows:

For the assist in the prompt and efficient administration of justice, the Court shall require self-represented litigants (*pro se*) to attend a free pro se clinic before filing any documents with the Clerk of Courts.

The pro se clinic is a training session between Legal Aid of Western

Ohio and the participant. The purpose of the clinic is to be educational and instructional. It is not intended to be an agreement to retain legal services.

The relationship between the parties is that of student and teacher and is not that of attorney and client. Materials and instructions provided shall relate to Paulding County Common Pleas Court only.

The pro se clinic shall be held on the fourth Wednesday of each month beginning August 22, 2018. Attendees are to contact the Court Administrator at 419/399-8220 or <a href="mailto:livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the Court Administrator at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the Court Administrator at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the Court Administrator at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the Court Administrator at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the Court Administrator at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the Court Administrator at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the Court Administrator at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the Court Administrator at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the Court Administrator at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the Court Administrator at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the Court Administrator at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the Court Administrator at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the Court Administrator at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the Court Administrator at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the court at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the Court Administrator at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the court at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the court at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the court at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the court at 419/399-8220 or <a href="livenesses">livenesses</a> are to contact the court at

IN THE COMMON PLEAS COURT OF PAULDING COUNTY, OHIO

IN THE MATTER OF AN AMENDMENT TO

LOCAL RULES OF COURT - RULE 19 - DOMESTIC RELATIONS

PARTICIPATION IN AN EDUCATIONAL SEMINAR FOR PARENTS

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Rule 19 of the Local Rules of Court be and

hereby is amended, effective June 1, 2019 to read as follows:

The Parenting After Divorce Program offered at Westwood Behavioral Health

Center, Inc will no longer be available after May of 2019.

All parties in actions of divorce or dissolution involving children under the age of

eighteen (18) shall participate in an educational seminar for parents designated by the

Court. Final decrees of divorce or dissolution will not be issued until compliance with

this Rule has been verified.

Beginning June 1, 2019, the Court shall designate Assisting Our Kids as the

educational seminar for parties in actions of divorce or dissolution. The Assisting Our

Kids is a four hour program that is available online or a three hour live program available

in several Ohio counties. Upon the filing of a complaint for divorce or dissolution, the

Clerk of Courts shall cause a notice of this requirement to be served on all parties.

Dated: 5 17 19

Tiffany R. Beckman, JUDGE

2019 HAY 22 AM II: 05

PAULDING COUNTY
ANN E. PEASE
CLERK OF COURTS